NetVerify 2021 - Network Verification Workshop

In conjunction with the 29th IEEE ICNP 2021, Online, November 1, 2021

Workshop Program

9AM-9:45AM CST / 7:00AM – 7:45AM PST Opening remarks
Keynote : “Be sure before shipping – the need for safety in clouds”
Dave Maltz, Corporate Vice President and Technical Fellow, Microsoft Azure Networking

Abstract: Organizations around the world depend on cloud hosting platforms to enable the services on which their customers depend. Changes made to the network configuration of the service or the platform are a leading cause of large-scale outages, which can have devastating consequences to the organizations and their customers. In this talk, I will review the types of issues seen in cloud networks and their relationship to changes.

5 - minute break.
9:50AM – 11:30AM CST / 7:50AM – 9:30AM PST Session 1 – Physical network verification (4 papers – 25 mins each), Session Chair - Karthick Jayaraman
  1. NCVS: Network Change Validation Service for Azure Datacenters – Andrey Rybalchenko, Microsoft Research
  2. Framework for Mining High-Level Intents from Low-Level Network Behavior - Ali Kheradmand, UIUC, Google
  3. Detecting Configuration Errors Via Pattern Mining - Jyotirmay Chauhan, Devon Lee, Emily Yu and Aaron Gember-Jacobson, Colgate University
  4. Predictable and verifiable datacenter network performance with EQDS - Costin Raiciu, Universitatea Politehnica Bucuresti, Romania
30-minute break for lunch
12:00 – 12:40PM CST/ 10:00AM – 10:40AM PST Keynote II: "High availability in a global-scale Cloud network"
Anees Shaikh, Principal Engineer, Google Global Networking
12:40PM – 2:20PM CST/ 10:40AM – 12:20PM PST Session 2 – Virtual network verification (4 papers – 25mins each), Session Chair - Hongkun Yang
  1. Software As a Network and the Implications for Verification - Bingzhe Liu - UIUC and Brighten Godfrey - UIUC & VMWare
  2. Verifying Configurations of Google Virtual Private Cloud Networks - Ivy Liu, Vishal Gupta and Kan Cai, Google
  3. Test Abstractions and Coverage for Network Security Policy Verification - Victor Heorhiadi and Benjamin F. Jones, Amazon Web Services
  4. Intermediate Representation for Verifying Virtual Networks in Azure - Ryan Beckett, Microsoft Azure
10-minute break
2:30PM – 3:45PM CST / 12:30PM – 1:45PM PST Session 3 – Short papers (5 papers - 15 minutes each), Session Chair - Rachee Singh
  1. Exploiting Formal Methods To make The Domain Name System More Robust - Siva Kesava Reddy Kakarla, UCLA
  2. Snowcap: Synthesizing Network-Wide Configuration Updates - Tibor Schneider, ETH Zurich
  3. Towards Agile Network Operation with Layer 4.5 Protocol Customization - Daniel Lukaszewski and Geoffrey Xie, Naval Postgraduate School
  4. Labyrinth: a Set Theoretic Approach to Network Flow Analysis - Michael Hopcroft, Microsoft
  5. MachSMT: Machine learning based Algorithm Selection for SMT Solvers - Joseph Scott, University of Waterloo
5-minute break
3:50PM – 4:50PM CST / 1:50PM – 2:50PM PST Panel discussion: Network Verification - Opportunities and Challenges
  1. Gargi Adhav, Google
  2. Brighten Godfrey, UIUC & VMWare
  3. Nikhil Handigol, Forward Networks
  4. Ratul Mahajan, IntentionNet & Univ. of Washington
  5. Edet Nkposong, Microsoft (Moderator)
  6. Jitu Padhye, Microsoft
  7. Anees Shaikh, Google

Sponsors

Gold

Cisco

Silver

Cisco
Cisco

Supported By

IEEE Computer Society
ICNP